NBC TV crew for the San Jose Sharks

Behind the Scenes at NBC -Versus

Friday, the 20th of May, the San Jose Sharks played the Vancouver Canucks at HP Arena in San Jose, California  in the Stanely Cup Playoffs. Our TV hosts for the night are Play by Play announcer-Dave Strader, Analyst- Brian Engblom and Inside The Glass announcer Darren Pang. Our NBC announcers came in for their “camera ready styling” and make up.

As I’m working with the guys I realize it’s great working with a regular line up of camera hosts and I’m sure they say the same about the crew. Most of us who work sports overlap networks as freelancers and have known each other for years, but this isn’t true for the hosts.

So imagine this… flying to a new city, going to a new arena, checking into another hotel, for another game with a different team and a new group of TV crew. It’s not easy living out of a single suitcase with a few changes of clothes. So when the hosts come in I make it my job to help them find their way around the arena and help them get situated in the press booth. I’ve developed a long standing friendship with some of the hosts over the years for no other reason than trying to help them in any way that I can so they can feel comfortable and get the job done.

Some of you reading this blog remember my bouts of shyness, and I’ve come a long way from that point and have learned a lot from many actors, hosts and crew that I have met on countless number of shows. The one thing I keep in mind when working is from a quote penned by Maya Angelou:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

If there is one piece of advice I can pass along to new crew members in the industry is treat people right, no matter the situation, no matter the status, and regardless of who is right or wrong. Remember: the same people you meet on your way up will be the same people you see when you fall down, so make sure there are those who will offer their hand to get you back on your feet.

NBC crew at work

5 Comments

  1. I especially liked this post…I love the quote, thanks for the reminder on where it came from..

  2. Very well said, Suzette! Great post.

  3. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of
    your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    • Hi there. So true. It has been my intention to come back and write more for some of the posts that I have uploaded. Life gets in the way. I’m sure you can relate if you are a freelancer. Thanks for the feedback.

      Redeveloping my business and will upload new and fresh content soon. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 192 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Networked Blogs

  • Suzette Mariel CEO of Myself

  • NEED-WANT-LOVE!