Chinese New Year is my second chance at creating change and reaching my goals

Year of the Dragon

It’s Chinese New Year, the year of the dragon. It is considered to be the most auspicious of the cycle and I plan on making it and auspicious year for me.

Yes its true that the “traditional” New Year has already happened but I consider Chinese New Year as a sort of mulligan, a doer over for all the things that I plan to work on this year. I sort of like to consider it as an extended time period for me to really get to the heart of the matter about what I really want to focus on for changing this year.  Chinese New year gives me the time I need to pull it together and realize that I only need to work on my timeline and not the one that starts on January 1st .

Instead of the usual New Year resolutions, that tend to be forgotten I have started choosing a word of the year to move me forward. And so far for the past few years it has really been working.

The word of the year for this year that I am trying to focus on is “CONSISTENCY”. Consistency in all that I do. I like the word of the year because it helps cut down on trying to keep track of all the New Year’s resolutions.  One of the best ways I have come across to keep the word in front of me is to place sticky notes in conspicuous places. These little reminders help me stay focused and aligned with my goals.

So this year I am putting it out into the universe to consistently work on finishing my book.  Feel free to check in on me and see how it’s coming along.

Traveling to fun and interesting places is also high on my list of being more consistent with. Check back to see where I jet off to next.

Consistently checking and connecting with the great people I met on Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr and other fun social media sites. Tweet to me on twitter @suzettemariel or follow  me on Pinterest under the user id Suzette Mariel.

Consistently adding more value to all that I do. Consistently helping people in my programs achieve more, be more and do more. Check out my other company website www.ejsports.com and see what programs I have created.

So now that you have seen how I use word of the year. Give it a try.

What’s your word of the year? I would love to add your word of the year to my list of self development tools so tweet me or post a comment below.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. What a great idea!
    My word is “believe”
    I believe in myself.
    That translates all across the board!

    Joyflower
    http://joysilk.blogspot.com/

    • Wonderful! Send me a photo on where you post your word of the year. It would be inspiring to see what everyone comes up with.

  2. Very inspiring, Suzette! My word for the year is “Success,” as in “Does this action/activity/commitment guide me toward success or is it something I can let go of?”

    • Great to hear that you have a word that moves your forward! Wishing you tons of success!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 192 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Networked Blogs

  • Suzette Mariel CEO of Myself

  • NEED-WANT-LOVE!