World Book Night Event- Encourage reading!

It’s the World Book Night Event here in The United States for the first time and I am excited to be apart of this life-changing event. This event is an annual celebration to encourage the joy of reading by giving out free paperback books.

As a publicist reading is fundamental to every aspect of my work. Being a part of this event is my small way of giving the gift of reading encouragement to those who are light readers.

World Book Night was initially launched in the United Kingdom in 2011 and was such a success, that it has been given the green light to launch in the U.S. this year.

Each year there are dozens of specially produced paperback books to choose from for your participation in the event. This year I choose the title, “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card. It is a science fiction novel written for youth about a very adult topic of saving the earth from invasion. I won’t divulge any details about the book except to say that the character Ender is particularly interesting in his development.

In 1985 the book won a Nebula Award for best novel and then was nominated for a Locus award in 1986. The novel has since gone forward and been adapted for a film, video game and comic series.

If you are interested in being apart of next year’s event visit the website www.worldbooknight.org and join the book crusade.  Or if you have received this book from me I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know what you liked about the book. Contact me on twitter @suzettemariel or leave a comment below.

6 Comments

  1. […] World Book Night Event- Encourage reading! (suzettemariel.wordpress.com) My box of WBN books Proud book-nerds ready to talk to commuters. My youngest son with an armful of The Hunger Games. Ready and willing. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted in Reading and tagged Book, Facebook, family, Instagram, Kite Runner, Twitter, World Book Night […]

  2. I had so much fun Monday even though one person told me he couldn’t read. I’m already looking forward to next year.

    • I agree I had a great time too and can’t wait until next year. I loved learning from your blog post and will definitely bring some information on literacy programs with me.

  3. […] World Book Night Event- Encourage reading! (suzettemariel.wordpress.com) […]

    • I love to read and try to encourage others to find something they like. Thanks for sharing the love of reading!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 192 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Networked Blogs

  • Suzette Mariel CEO of Myself

  • NEED-WANT-LOVE!