Inspiring words – Patience can get you the best things in life

Patience To Wait For The Right Time

“Patience is power.
Patience is not an absence of action;
rather it is “timing”
it waits on the right time to act,
for the right principles
and in the right way.”
― Fulton J. Sheen

Many of us lack patience. I know that patience escapes me some of the time and  I intentionally practice being patient. (Not always successfully, after all I am human, not Wonder Woman.)

I have often heard that things manifest themselves when they are meant to be, when you are ready for them, able to fully embrace whatever may be coming your way. Sometimes there are things we must learn along the way before we can have what we want in life. Sometimes there are things that must leave your life before you can be open to the next adventure. Sometimes we just have to wait and we aren’t certain what we are waiting for.

Patience in life can be like a traffic sign, STOP, WAIT, GO. It can drive you crazy when you are in a hurry.  Lacking patience can often lead to a less than ideal situation or settling for something second rate because the waiting is overwhelming.

Instilling the power of patience, to wait for the right time, the right thing or person to come into your life can yield amazing results. Believe me, patience can get you the best things in life.

I’m in the process of remodeling my house so I can eventually sell it.  I keep telling myself, be patient, choose one thing and work on that. At the moment my one thing is paint. A paint color to match the carpet. It’s frustrating because I want the whole thing done now, today so I can move to my next wonderful home. But I know that by ceasing to be in the moment I would miss all the pleasure of living.

Practicing patience I realize that there are some really wonderful things about the house. I love the water fountain that attracts lots of wildlife. I love my quiet neighborhood where people can ride their horses. I enjoy watching the squirrels run the top of my fence as if it were a freeway. I love the enormous acorn tree in front of my house that all of the crows love to gather around and eat from. I love my plum tree in the back yard and the way the fruit ripens on the branch. I love that my house is close to the freeway but I can’t see it or hear it. I love the memories  in this house and my happiness here. But I will patiently wait for my next house and continue imagining all the details until that perfect house comes on the market. (And in case you are curious, my perfect house has a separate entrance for my PR firm and a great studio for my photo shoots.)

My patience is giving me the power to enjoy what is, instead of rushing to what isn’t.

If you are feeling impatient, ask yourself, what am I missing out on? Or maybe the better question is what are you patiently waiting for? I would love to hear your thoughts and comments about the power of patience. Tweet me @suzettemariel,  leave a comment below or visit my Facebook page  Mariel.Suzette  and share your thoughts.

Photocredit: Traffic Signal by  digital art

3 Comments

  1. Hey, I’m a squirrel watcher too! 🙂 yay! I am patiently waiting for relocation to a warm, sunny Southern CA beach town. I know it will happen one day. Even if I’m retired and in my 60s, I will live there, surfing, attending live concerts, and run by own biz from home. I look forward to walking on the beach in the a.m. and p.m. Patience is not my strong suit at all though, I’ll admit. Of course, sometimes, the waiting serves us, for sure 🙂

    • California will be happy to have a great person like you! We will be neighbors when you move, I’m in Northern California.

  2. […] Inspiring words – Patience can get you the best things in life (suzettemariel.wordpress.com) […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 192 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Networked Blogs

  • Suzette Mariel CEO of Myself

  • NEED-WANT-LOVE!