Spotlight Focus- # FF Follow Friday – Lisa Marie Selow

Follow Friday on Twitter is a great way to connect with people. Especially if you are a solo entrepreneur. Many of us work at home or isolated in office space and rarely get a chance to network and reach out to other business people on a regular basis.

I created the Spotlight Focus to get to know new people . I wanted to reach the real person and find out their Who, What, Why, How and When information. Something that could make me take a second look and find out how their business and my business could connect and collaborate on changing the world. Even if that change only meant a change in how I saw a small part of the world. You never know what could happen.

Today’s spotlight focus is on Lisa Marie Selow. To find out more, read below and head over to the website, follow her on twitter and other social media and make a connection.

Bio: Lisa Selow is a professional psychic and spiritual coach who specializes in liberating women to live empowered lives with more courage and authenticity. Lisa has used her own brand of loving humor, combined with a punk-rock edge, in the healing arts since 1998. She lives in the Detroit, Michigan, area with her husband and several electric guitars.

 

Business Name: Lisa Marie Selow

Name: Lisa Marie Selow

Website: http://lisaselow.com/

Facebook url: https://www.facebook.com/LisaMarieSelow

Twitter url: https://twitter.com/lisaselow

Other Social Media: LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/lisaselow

Number of years in business: 7 years (since 2005 officially)

 

Lisa Marie Selow

 

What industry do you work in and what sets your company apart from the competition?

I’m in more than one industry, including the fields of psychic readings, life coaching, self-help, and writing. I don’t really believe in competition, since I believe there is enough abundance in the world for all. What probably sets me apart though is my willingness to show my fun-loving and punk rock natures.

How did you get started in the industry?

Back in 1998, I started massage therapy school, a big 180 degree turn from being a paralegal. Then, I went onto to study energy work and later, ended up doing psychic readings. Today, my path has evolved into life coaching, speaking, and getting a self-help book published.

 

What product do you think every business should have and why?

I’d say a Mac computer. Apple sure makes things user-friendly and fun. You get so much software out of the box, including things like iMovie to edit your blogs or GarageBand to podcast. I made the switch and have never regretted it. (I don’t get paid to say this.)

 

What is your favorite technology that supports your online business and why?

Worpress.org is by far my favorite technology. I can blog, update my website, and manage a membership site on my own, without having to hire outside help very often. It’s a powerful software and I’m in love with it.

 

What charity do you donate to and why is it special to you?

When I can, I donate to projects that preserve Tibetan Buddhism, assist the homeless, and protect animals. I’d like to get more involved in helping fund microloans for women entrepreneurs in the developing nations. These just speak to my heart so much.

 

What is on your “NEED WANT LOVE” list to do in life?

I’d say mine is all about rock and roll. I’m a singer and electric guitar player. I’ve always dreamed of having a rock band and writing my own songs. I enjoy inspiring others through the power of music.

 

What industry trends are you following that interest you?

I’m inspired by the idea of crowdfunding, where groups of people help others make their dreams a reality with financing. I have been returning to old school ideas more, such as in-person networking and building relationships. I think those are tried and true and more effective than trends.

 

Who are your mentors?

There are simply too many to list. I have had many teachers along the way, and I don’t want to forget to mention anyone. So, I’ll just leave it at that.

 

What entrepreneurs inspire you to live brilliantly?

Well, Oprah is a big inspiration to everyone, including me. I enjoy the work of Marie Forleo, Danielle LaPorte, and Chris Guillbeau very much. I also would put Louise L. Hay in my list too.

 

How do you promote your business?

I tend to use social media a ton, but I also love attending live events and classes. Good, old-fashioned word-of-mouth works well for me too. I tend to be very hands on and low budget with it all.

 

What challenges did you face promoting your business in the start up phase?

I had to teach myself almost everything, especially the technological and the marketing sides. I also don’t think I had my target market and niche nailed down 100 percent. I also found working at home to be isolating, until I reached out to other businesses.

 

What tip would you give a new person starting out in your industry?

There is no such thing as failures. There are only opportunities to learn and grow. Reframe mistakes in your mind as an investment in your education as a business owner. Invest in your personal growth. Your business will only grow as much as you do.

 

 

6 Comments

  1. You rock Lisa!!! I can’t wait to read your book 🙂

  2. This is my daughter and I couldnt be more proud!! She is an amazing person…cant wait to have your book in my hands!!! I love you !! YOU GO GIRL!!!

  3. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, ladies and momma! And, thanks so much Suzette again for having me xoxoxo


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 192 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Networked Blogs

  • Suzette Mariel CEO of Myself

  • NEED-WANT-LOVE!